5 Questions for Caterina Fake | Inc.com

Standard

How did you come up with the idea for Pinwheel?

One misconception is that start-ups start with a Eureka moment when the entrepreneur is sitting in the bathtub. It doesn’t happen that way. For me, at least. I guess the idea’s been evolving since 1999. I didn’t realize that until my ex-husband and co-founder on Flickr called me to congratulate me on the launch, and he actually reminded me of a conversation we had in ’99 about how cool it would be to be able to leave notes in places like doorways and street corners and various places around the world. Naturally, that didn’t go anywhere. Back then it wasn’t really possible. No one had smartphones. Nobody used geo-location, except the military. In the intervening 13 years, everything has changed. People have now been using GPS, checking in on Foursquare, and the other location-based services out there. There’s a good amount of familiarity with using systems like this, which I think is indispensible in terms of technology adoption.

via 5 Questions for Caterina Fake | Inc.com.

