A thought for Today: where are all the women on Radio 4’s flagship show? | Life and style | The Guardian

Standard

When the sole female presenter has a day off, as she did this morning, an hour can go by without one unbroken voice. Entire discussions of the global economy, the Leveson inquiry into the media and Scottish devolution, to take a few recent examples, are conducted by men. BBC insiders call this a lack of “vocal textural variety”. I think of it as the constant sound of men talking at me and have increasingly taken to shouting at the radio when, and I can think of no better phrase, a serious interview descends to “willy-waving”. The children try to switch to local London station Capital but I won’t let them. As I say, I need help.

via A thought for Today: where are all the women on Radio 4’s flagship show? | Life and style | The Guardian.

p.s. In the little graphic at the top, there’s one woman, four men, and none of them are brown, beige, or black.

