Facebook’s complexity will be its doom • The Register

Standard

Facebook, like much of the rest of the rising web generation, has misunderstood Tim O’Reilly’s “architecture of participation” idea and instead forces its users into participation. Its privacy controls are either coarse-grained or fine-grained.

For example, I can turn off Spotify for everyone or I can do it friend-by-friend. I’m also finding that Facebook’s algorithms that determine what is a top story for me are off at least 75 per cent of the time – I’m constantly having to deprecate its chosen top stories and highlight others. Even with the relatively close company I keep on Facebook, that turns into an administration nightmare that I have little time to solve.

To make Facebook useful for me, I am forced to undergo hours of bother, tuning settings to get the inflow of information correct. I’m not sure I have that patience.

And I’m increasingly not alone in this. A friend and high-profile Silicon Valley CEO posted his own complaint on Facebook, arguing that it has become too unwieldy to remain his preferred gathering place for friends.

via Facebook’s complexity will be its doom • The Register.

