TV drama must stop relying on irony and costumes, says Jimmy McGovern | Television & radio | The Observer

Standard

McGovern also revealed that he recently nearly abandoned an unnamed writing project for the BBC when he began to feel he was being overlooked in favour of rival “posh” writers. “I downed tools for a while because some other writer was being treated better than me.”

The writer, who was born into a large working class family in Liverpool, said that class is still central to everything he writes. “It informs everything. And personally, to me it is still a problem. I have met a lot of people in my life, but there are still lots of situations in which I am ill at ease because I am working class.”

via TV drama must stop relying on irony and costumes, says Jimmy McGovern | Television & radio | The Observer.

