The Font War: Ikea Fans Fume over Switch to Verdana – TIME

Standard

comp

Those of you who think I am strangely obsessed with fonts are always sceptical when I claim that lots of other people share my obsession. Well, the IKEA adopts Verdana story has now appeared in Time magazine, and I’ll have you know that I have nothing to do with it.

The Font War: Ikea Fans Fume over Switch to Verdana – TIME. Snip:

Others seem mystified by the choice to eliminate one of the chain’s key identifying features. “The former typeface definitely better reflected Ikea’s design philosophy, giving it a very special, unique flavor that actually fit the company’s style,” says Vitaly Friedman, editor in chief of the online Smashing Magazine, which is dedicated to Web design. “With Verdana being used all across the Web, Ikea’s image not only loses originality, but also credibility and the reputation that the company has built since the 1940s.”

Here’s another take on the controversy: Why, Ikea, why? Snip:

Like many other critics of the switch I would counter that Verdana was specifically designed for use online. Why didn’t IKEA just switch to Verdana online and keep the typographically superior Futura for their print applications? I shudder at the thought of hovering Verdana-emblazoned billboards and bus stop ads.

