Paul Merton on Hitchcock – Times Online

Standard

Paul Merton writes about why he loves Hitchcock

in The Times.

It’s a nice article, especially on how Hitchcock never forgot that film is a visual medium. Classic first-time director or screenwriter’s mistake, in the “indie” era, has been to have a “witty”, speech-filled script, with characters firing lines at each other throughout. This works well on TV (The West Wing, for example), but one of the reasons modern films are too long, I think, it because a lot of people don’t appreciate how economical visual storytelling can be.

And what kind of idiot thinks that a voice over is a good idea? “And that’s when Susan realised…”

One thought on “Paul Merton on Hitchcock – Times Online

  1. Josh

    Desperate Houswives: VT of the ugly ginger one clearly meeting her future mother-in-law for the first time. However, the ever-so-complex plot lines lose me. Luckily the voice over lets me know what’s really happening; “comp­etition is on when Bree meets her future mother-in-law for the first time”.
    Are we really all so stupid that we need to be told what’s happening as we watch it? Visual medium my a**e. Smells like hypodermic theory to me. But what do I know? I’m just a passive consumer. I can’t make my mind up for myself.

Comments are closed.